The Secret Garden Frances Hodgson Burnett – 31

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett – Episode 31

The Secret Garden by [Frances Hodgson Burnett]The Secret Garden is a novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett first published in book form in 1911, after serialization in The American Magazine (November 1910 – August 1911). Set in England, it is one of Burnett’s most popular novels and seen as a classic of English children’s literature.

The Secret Garden tells the story of Mary Lennox a sickly brat born to privilege as a British citizen in colonialized India and her transformation after her parents die in a plague.  Mary is sent to live with her uncle at Misselthwaite Manor on the Yorkshire Moors.  There she discovers that life is more than being waited on hand and foot as she begins to be changed by the Moor and the people she meets there, especially her equally bratty cousin Colin.

Recommended Age:

While the Secret Garden does not have much in the way of questionable content, Mary does have some very racist ideas about the natives of India and expresses them as a young lady would in 1911.  These topics could be offensive to some and should be addressed accordingly.  Additionally, the language, especially the Yorkshire may be harder for some readers to follow.

Read aloud 7+

Read along 10+


Our Scores:


Your Scores:

Click to rate this post!
[Total: 1 Average: 5]

You can find The Secret Garden on Amazon

Make sure you read the next book before next month’s release

Keeper of the Lost cities, our family has been binging the entire series it is amazing.

Keeper of the Lost Cities
Decembers book

Looking for more books like The Secret Garden?

Check out or other Shows:

Penderwicks – Another character-driven genre story

Fever 1793 – A bit of historical fiction set in the middle of the Philadelphia Yellow Fever epidemic.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.